• SYPT 2018 - Winners

    SYPT 2018 - Winners

    Jakob Storp, Natalia Lopez-Edge and Nic Baruffol win the SYPT 2018 at the University of Basel.
  • SYPT 2017 - Winners

    SYPT 2017 - Winners

    Johann Schwabe, Florian Wirth and Aladin Bouddat win the SYPT 2017 at the EPFL.
  • SYPT 2016 - Winners

    SYPT 2016 - Winners

    Kathrin Laxhuber and Marc Bitterli (both form the MNG Rämibühl) win the SYPT 2016 at the ETH Zürich.
  • SYPT 2016 - Medals

    SYPT 2016 - Medals

    The medal that could be won at the SYPT 2016 at the ETH Zürich.
  • SYPT 2016 - Final

    SYPT 2016 - Final

    The final of the SYPT 2016 at the ETH Zürich. The teams 404 - name not found, the 3 √-1’s and Higgs’ Bozos fought for the title.
  • SYPT 2016 - Opening

    SYPT 2016 - Opening

    The SYPT 2016 at the ETH Zürich starts with a speech by ETH headmaster Prof. Dr. Sarah Springman.
  • SYPT 2015 - Winners

    SYPT 2015 - Winners

    Michael Rogenmoser (MNG Rämibühl), Lioba Heimbach (Zurich International School) and Cesare Villiger (LG Rämibühl) win the SYPT 2015 at the University of Zurich.
  • SYPT 2015 - Final

    SYPT 2015 - Final

    The final of the SYPT 2015 at the University of Zurich. The teams Doped Quasiparticles, Perpetuum Mobile and Maxwell’s Demons fought for the title.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8

Are you preparing for the tournament but still have some questions about what you will need to do during those Physics Fights? Some commonly asked questions and their answers can be found here.

Every participant will be active in three Physics Fights, once as the Reporter, once as the Opponent and once as the Reviewer.
A Physics Fight plays between three teams and consists of three stages. Each stage follows a strict schedule (see SYPT Regulations). In the first stage, a member of the first team takes the role of the Reporter, a member of the second team the role of the Opponent and a member of the third team the role of the Reviewer. In the second and third stage the roles cycle through the teams and team members according to the Fight Plan.
The Reporter presents a solution to the problem selected during the registration (see Fight Plan). Most presentations are prepared in PowerPoint, Keynote, or similar programs. The time for the presentation is strictly limited to 12 minutes.

An important aspect of the presentation is to convince the other teams and the jury that you did your own experimental work. It is allowed to bring along devices you have been using for your investigation, but it is also perfectly fine to just show videos/photographs instead. A good solution should also show a good understanding of the relevant theory. If possible, at least one relevant parameter should be investigated quantitatively and compared to the theoretical prediction.

There are three parts while the Opponent takes the stage:
  • summary of the presentation and critical feedback (strengths and weaknesses)
  • discussion between Opponent and Reporter
  • summary of discussion

The Opponent is expected to discuss the solution presented by the Reporter and not to focus too much on other aspects of the problem. In a good discussion, the Opponent manages to help the Reporter further develop the solution.

You can find out about the problem you will have to oppose once the Fight Plan is published.

The Reviewer has to give a critical feedback to both the Reporter and the Opponent. Since the presentation has already been summed up by the Opponent, the Reviewer is expected to add points that were missed by both of them and to focus on the discussion between them (the focus should be on the science, i.e. scientific method, mathematics, physics, experimental procedures, assumptions etc).
Although there is only one active team member in each stage, it is important that the other team members provide as much help as possible. During the presentation they can assist the Opponent and the Reviewer by writing down unclear points or shortcomings. During the discussion they are allowed to pass on new questions (e.g. on a sheet of paper) to their active team member.