• SYPT 2017 - Winners

    SYPT 2017 - Winners

    Johann Schwabe, Florian Wirth and Aladin Bouddat win the SYPT 2017 at the EPFL.
  • IYPT 2016 - Gold Medal

    IYPT 2016 - Gold Medal

    The Swiss delegation consisting of Émilie Hertig, Eric Schertenleib (teamleader), Zara Vance, Daniel Keller (independent juror), Joonas Vättö, Kathrin Laxhuber, Marc Bitterli (captain), Patrick Lenggenhager (teamleader juror) und Samuel Byland (EC) wins a gold medal at the IYPT 2016 in Ekaterinburg, Russia.
  • IYPT 2016 - Team Photo

    IYPT 2016 - Team Photo

    The Swiss team 2016: Zara Vance, Joonas Vättö, Émilie Hertig, Marc Bitterli (captain) and Kathrin Laxhuber.
  • SYPT 2016 - Winners

    SYPT 2016 - Winners

    Kathrin Laxhuber and Marc Bitterli (both form the MNG Rämibühl) win the SYPT 2016 at the ETH Zürich.
  • IYPT 2015 - Medal

    IYPT 2015 - Medal

    The Swiss delegation wins bronze medal at the IYPT 2015 in Nakhonratchasima: Samuel Byland (EC, juror), Lioba Heimbach (captain), Eric Schertenleib (teamleader), Marc Bitterli, Phyllis Barth, Michael Rogenmoser, Kathrin Laxhuber and Daniel Keller (teamleader juror).
  • IYPT 2015 - Team Photo

    IYPT 2015 - Team Photo

    The Swiss delegation at the IYPT 2015 in Nakhonratchasima: Daniel Keller (teamleader juror), Eric Schertenleib (teamleader), Lioba Heimbach (captain), Kathrin Laxhuber, Marc Bitterli, Phyllis Barth, Michael Rogenmoser and Samuel Byland (EC, juror).
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6


Facebook Page

The Swiss Young Physicists' Tournament (SYPT) is a Swiss competition, where physics enthusiasts from secondary schools from anywhere in Switzerland participate. In a preparatory phase they carry out a small research project, whose results are presented and defended at the actual tournament.



The International Young Physicists' Tournament (IYPT) is the international counterpart of the national competition. Teams from all over the world compete against each other and a diverse social program promotes social contact of members from different teams.



Become a member!

Pro IYPT-CH is the organization that organizes not only the national tournament SYPT but also the preparation for both the SYPT as well as the IYPT and the qualification for the Swiss team.


The SYPT was a full success. Congratulations to all the participants, especially to the finalists and to the winning team 404 - name not found consisting of Kathrin Laxhuber and Marc Bitterli (photograph © ETH Zürich/Heidi Hostettler)!


Press Release (in German)

Zürich, 3.4.16 / Am 1. und 2. April ging das Swiss Young Physicists‘ Tournament (SYPT) an der ETH über die Bühne. 43 Gymnasiasten und Gymnasiastinnen demonstrierten vor einer fachkundigen Jury ihr Physikwissen. Dabei zeigten fünf Schülerinnen sehr starke Leistungen... (read more)


Important Documents:


Read more ...

The SYPT will take place on April 1 and 2 at ETH Zurich Center. In teams students from different schools will present and discuss their solutions to 17 physics problems.


Press Release (in German)

Zürich, 29.3.16 / Physikbegeistert, redegewandt und Teamplayer: Die 43 Gymnasiasten und Gymnasiastinnen am Swiss Young Physicists‘ Tournament sind es alle. Nun kämpfen sie am 1. und 2. April an der ETH Zürich um den Titel des Physik-Schweizermeisters. Den Besten winkt zudem eine Reise nach Russland... (read more)


Important Documents:

Page 2 of 2

Ongoing Events

  • SYPT Registration, Pro IYPT-CH (18.09.2017 - 31.12.2017)

Future Events

  • Vereinsversammlung 2018, ETH HG F 26.1, Rämistrasse 101, Zürich (17.01.2018 - 30.11.-0001)
  • SYPT Physics Week, MNG Rämibühl, Physikinstitut Rämistrasse 54 8001 Zürich (12.02.2018 - 16.02.2018)
  • SYPT 2018, Uni Basel (17.03.2018 - 18.03.2018)
  • IYPT Teamqualification, MNG Rämibühl (16.04.2018 - 17.04.2018)
  • IYPT 2018, RDFZ Highschool, Beijing, China (19.07.2018 - 25.07.2018)


New Registration Deadline

The registration period for the Physics Week and SYPT 2017 has been extended until 15th January 2017.


Press Release SYPT 2017 (in German)

Lausanne, 01.03.17 / 63 Gymnasiastinnen und Gymnasiasten kämpfen am Swiss Young Physicists' Tournament um den Titel des Physikschweizermeisters. Am 18. und 19. März demonstrieren sie an der ETH Lausanne ihr Können. Den besten winkt eine Teilnahme an die Weltmeisterschaft in Singapur. Hier gehts zur vollständigen Medienmitteilung.

Launch of the SYPT Physics Week

Presently it is rather difficult for motivated students to participate at the SYPT, depending on their school. It is left to chance whether they find a teacher motivated enough to supervise them during the experiments and whether the school even has and provides the necessary equipment. To help out with that, we will launch the "SYPT Physics Week" in 2017. Experienced coaches will help you with your IYPT problem at the KS Rämibühl from 13 till 17 February.

Gold Medal

Switzerland reaches the final at the IYPT 2016 in Ekaterinburg, Russia and places third. Congratulations to the Swiss team, the coaches and all involved parties!

Swiss Team 2016

The Swiss team 2016 consists of Marc Bitterli (captain), Émilie Hertig, Kathrin Laxhuber, Joonas Vättö and Zara Vance. They will represent Switzerland from June 26 to July 2, 2016 at the IYPT in Ekaterinburg, Russia.